To Experience….that’s it!

In thinking what my fifth value would be, it crossed my mind something I wrote in my About Me page.  I wrote about learning to drive a dump truck and why on earth did I decide to do that.

  I realized that it was just…to experience it! 

Believe me, I got some experiences, too!  Like hauling snow 36 hours straight with no sleep, hauling dirt into a forest preserve down a hiking path with only inches on either side or I’d be in a lake! 

 That’s what my 5th value has got to be…to experience! 

I’ve jumped out of an airplane at 10,000 feet…to experience it!  I’ve hiked a mile out onto a desolate lava field, in pouring rain, by myself, in search of red flowing lava…to experience a once in a lifetime chance! 

I just love to experience life! 

Actually, I think I will rank “to experience” as#3 and move adventure and acheivement to 4 and 5. 

I just signed up for the 8K Shamrock Shuffle in Chicago this April.  I’m not a runner but I’m fit enough to walk 8K.  I might be the last one to cross the line, but I’m going to cross it!  I’m going to experience the adventure and achievement of it!

This entry was posted in Values. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment