Lifelong Learning

Are leadership skills a divine gift of birth, a gift granted to a chosen few?

John Kotter, in his book entitled Leading Change, says he once believed that notion.  But after thirty years of studying organizations and the people who run them he no longer believes in such.  

He now believes it is the power and the potential of lifelong learning that tends to the development of a remarkable leader. 

Kotter explains that in a static world, we virtually learn everything we need to know in life by the time we are 15 and few of us are called upon to provide leadership.  However, in an ever changing world, we can never learn it all, even if we grow into our 90’s.  And now, in the 21st century, our world is not just ever changing, it is rapidly ever changing.  It is only the ones who have this willingness and ability to keep developing who will grow to become unusually competent in envisioning and advancing transformation.  They learn to be leaders. 

Kotter goes on to describe the habits of a lifelong learner.  Listening with an open mind, trying new things, reflecting honestly on successes and failures.  Lifelong learners take risks, they push themselves outside of their comfort zone. 

Lifelong learners seek opinions and ideas from others.  They don’t believe they know it all.  They believe they can learn from anyone and learn from any circumstance.

All of these habits are actually more painful than pleasant.  It is natural tendency to shy away from these actions.  What trait then do lifelong learners have that allows them to endure these short-term pains associated with growth?

Kotter explains that lifelong learners tend to be mission oriented.  They tend to have high standards and ambitious goals.  This spurs them on and helps them endure.

Kotter concludes by saying that people who are attempting to grow, to become more comfortable with change, to develop leadership skills, are typically driven by a sense that they are doing what is right for themselves, their families, their organizations.  That sense of purpose inspires them during rough times.  And the leaders at the top who are doing this, and who are also encouraging and leading others to do the same, are providing a profoundly important service for the entire human community. 

Kotter’s writings concerning the leader of the 21st century is not the main idea of his book.  But it is the part I personally related with. 

I found reassurance in his description of a leader as a lifelong learner, reassurrance that decisions I am making to continue my education are surely sound decisions.  

I found insight in his proclamation that you can learn from anyone and any situation.  It reminded me of when I was taking my undergraduate classes, I refused to take any online courses or any life-experience-credit courses (that’s where you would receive college credit for life experiences).  I always believed I learned more from the instructor and fellow classmates then from the coursework itself. 

Most importantly though, he validated my desire to take what I have learned from my 15 years of being in business and make something good of that experience.  I wish to honestly reflect on my acheivements and my mistakes and use that knowledge to truly make a difference for my clients as I enter into the role of business consultant.

This entry was posted in book reference. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Lifelong Learning

  1. Pingback: 21 Secrets of Succesful People | The Laid Back Life

Leave a comment