Leading From Within

More than once during the few weeks of our class, the term “Leading from the Bottom” arose.

Even one of the books I read, Tribes, We Need You To Lead Us, by Seth Godin, also talks about this concept. 

I grasp the concept.  I agree with the concept.  But for some reason, I’m unsettled about the term itself.

I prefer the term “Leading from WithIn” instead.

Let me explain what is meant by the original term, “leading from the bottom”. 

Most people look at the idea of leadership and it scares them away.  I’m not a leader. I have no authority to do such.  I’m not one of the bigwigs at the top.  Status quo is just so much more comfortable.  Someone else can shake the apple cart.   That’s not for me! 

On occasion, someone does shake the apple cart, someone with no authority, someone not of the upper ranks, someone from the bottom. 

Seth Godin’s example was of Thomas Barnett.  Thomas Barnett was an individual within the Pentagon with no status, no rank, no authority, just a researcher with a big idea.  Mr. Barnett believed so passionately his ideas of change post-9/11, that he created a 3-hour PowerPoint presentation that resembled performing arts rather than a Pentagon briefing.  Senior military officials say his ideas are influencing the way the Pentagon views its enemies, vulnerabilities and future structure.  A seemingly insignificant person from within, with no authority, is changing the stiff, bureaucratic Pentagon, –  thus, “leading from the bottom”.  

In this situation, because Barnett was acting upon a belief from “within” himself and, because he was acting, not because he did have authority or did not have authority, not because he was upper ranked or lower ranked, but because he was a part of the Pentagon, in other words, “within” the Pentagon, this is why I believe “Leading From Within” is a better term. 

Following is a heartwarming video which touches on this concept of “leading from within”.  Take a few minutes to watch.  It’s just a simple, inspiring, little example of someone making a difference. 

This entry was posted in book reference, leadership, video post and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment