Inspired

Readings from class this week dealt with contrasting leadership styles. 

One leadership style can be a very visible, energized, visionary style of leadership that is needed when leading somthing immense such as a large corporation, a large city, or particularly something in need of change.  Rudy Giuliani comes to mind and his heroric performance under fire. 

A contrasting leadership style was a more subtle and intimate approach, the quiet leader.  The quiet leader embraces virtues such as modesty, restraint, tenacity, and promotes compromise.  When I think of a quiet leader I think of Mr. Myagi in Karate Kid I.  First he dealth with compromise, “leave Daniel alone until the tournament”.  Modesty, in that he taught Daniel that the karate skills he was searching for was within his own mind and his own heart, not anything that he himself could teach him.  Restraint, in waiting for the right time and right place for lessons.  Tenacity, in not giving up on Daniel even when he was frustrated or impatient, and persevering in the never-ending battle of bad-guy  vs good-guy.  Even a better example would be Colin Powell, a leader of firm conviction, and one who inspires not necessarily through his actions but through who he is, what he represents, what he lives for.  

Both styles can give the same results:  inspiration to those they lead.

This reflection reminded me of a post I recently read on someone else’s blog.  A post written by Mike Henry and titled “Leaders Inspire Courage”.

One of the reasons I related so well with this post is because I was recently inspired by someone who told me they believed I could accomplish what I have set out to do.  It makes a world of difference, to have someone truly believe in you, and tell you so.  It has given me courage.  I have experienced precisely what this person has written about.  And he did such an excellent job writing the post.

I am attaching a link to his post.  I know you will enjoy reading it.

This entry was posted in Values. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Inspired

  1. Sheila, thanks so much for the kind comments and link. I’m glad the post energized you. As your experience testifies, believing the best of someone is very energizing. Every time I have exceeded my own expectations, I did it because someone else expected more. Thanks for the comment and the connection.

    Mike…

Leave a comment