Courage to be Imperfect

Dork!  Quite often that’s just what I feel like…a dork!  I’ve said something foolish, done something stupid, thought something ridiculous, you name it! 

When I see that feeling in one of my grandchildren, they’ve misbehaved in a foolish manner, tripped over their shoestrings, what have you, my immediate response is to call them a dork…..and then hug them as hard as I can.

What I am trying to tell them is that is why I love them, for their imperfections! I only hope that is what they are getting out of it!

I want to share with you a video I watched recently where the speaker does an awesome job with the subject of vulnerability, courage to be imperfect, connectivity. 

There is so much in this video, my little example doesn’t begin to give it justice.

The speaker is excellent, so personable, so down to earth.

I would like to add that I connected with this video for of another reason also.  You will notice in the video that the speaker has a background in social work.  In my current leadership class, most of the students are from the business world but a few of the students are from the social work field getting their masters in social work.  Up until now I have not had any real contact with the social work discipline, all of my classes have been business-oriented.  It has been such a rewarding experience combining the two disciplines!  To hear their ideas and to see the correlations between the two fields is just jaw-dropping at times.  Also I must add, it takes a special type of person to be in the field of social work, a dedication you just don’t typically see.  I have come to admire their unique leadership style.   

I think the video is a must-see!

This entry was posted in leadership, Leading Self, Values, video post and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment